Comic-Con International: San Diego has just released the list of nominees for this year’s Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award, alternatively referred to as The Manning Award. Since 1982, the Manning Award has been given out annually at Comic-Con International.

Named for Russ Manning – best known for his art on the Tarzan and Star Wars strips, as well as the Magnus, Robot Fighter comic book – this award is presented to a comic artist who shows superior knowledge and ability in the art of creating comics. During the 1970s, Manning was a popular guest at the San Diego convention.

The inaugural recipient was former Manning assistant Dave Stevens, who later went on to create The Rocketeer. Past recipients also include Jan Duursema, Steve Rude, Scott McCloud, Art Adams, Eric Shanower, Dan Brereton, Jeff Smith, Gene Ha, Alexander Maleev, David Petersen, Cathy Malkasian, Eleanor Davis, Tyler Crook, and Dan Mora.

The 2017 nominees are Rafael de Latorre (artist of Animosity and Superzero), Riana Dorsey (artist of Cloud Riders), Mindy Lee (artist of Bounty), Leila Leiz (artist of Alters), and Anne Szabla (writer-artist of Bird-Boy).

Nominees were selected by a panel made up of Comic-Con International board and committee members, and a San Diego comics retailer. A recipient will be selected by past Manning award winners and Russ Manning assistants.

The winner will be announced during the Eisner Awards ceremony on July 21, 2017 at Comic-Con International in San Diego.

Further information about the Manning Awards can be found at www.comic-con.org/awards/russ-manning.