The second season of The Umbrella Academy ended in an alternate version of 2019, which included introducing the Sparrow Academy. This group was born and adopted by Sir Reginald Hargreeves on the same day he adopted the Umbrella Academy in the other timeline. They are nearly identical to the Umbrella Academy, but with a group that Hargreeves believes to be better than the other. They also include an “Existential Dread Inducing Psykronium Cube.”

Netflix has announced the group of actors who will play the Sparrow Academy, including Justin H. Min (as Ben or a doppelgänger), Justin Cornwell, Britne Oldford, Jake Epstein, Genesis Rodriguez, and Cazzie David.

Cornwell (I Am the Night) plays Marcus/Sparrow #1, the charming but lethal, leader who keeps the family together. Min will be Ben/Sparrow #2, though a different version who is vicious and vigilant. Oldford (The Path), stars as Fei/Sparrow #3, who sees the world in a different way and is likely the smartest person in the room. Epstein (Designated Survivor), plays Alphonso/Sparrow #4, a crimefighter with plenty of scars and a biting sense of humor. Rodriguez (The Fugitive), stars as Sloane/Sparrow #5, a romantic dreamer who wants to explore the world. David (86’ed), portrays Jayme/Sparrow #6, the quiet loner with a scary snarl. The Existential Dread Inducing Psykronium Cube, is also known as Christopher/Sparrow #7, the family oracle who hands out advice and can also make a room freezing cold or create extreme fear.

Netflix also released an image of the new cast members to the accompany the announcement. The 10-episode third season will begin production in February 2021.